PM Mahinda Rajapaksa elected as Chair of ADB’s Board of Governors

Prime Minister Mahinda Rajapaksa has been elected as Chair of the Asian Development Bank (ADB) Board of Governors for the year 2021/2022 during the 54th Annual Meeting that was held virtually this (May 05) afternoon .

PM Rajapaksa, as the Minister of Finance, serves as the Governor for Sri Lanka of the ADB.

The annual meeting that was originally scheduled to be held in Tbilisi, Georgia, unfolded in a virtual format due to the current pandemic, the Prime Minister’s Office said in a statement issued today. During the meeting, the Governors of Austria and Mongolia were elected as Vice-Chairs.

The 55th Annual Meeting of the ADB Board of Governors is scheduled to be held in Colombo next year.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button